Nathan Heathcote signs of 2017 British Rallycross season in style

23 Oct 17

Nathan Heathcote enjoyed a perfect end to his Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship season at Croft Circuit, taking a clean sweep of honours this past weekend (October 21/22).

Entering the event as one of three drivers holding a mathematical shot at being crowned 2017 champion, Heathcote translated his rapid pace into a commanding victory in the Supercar final.

Making his escape from the front row, Heathcote enjoyed a trouble-free run to the checkered flag whilst the action unfolded further behind.

Heathcote’s team-mate’s Pat Doran and Warren Scott found themselves in the thick of the action and they duked it out with the rest of the field. Five-time champion Julian Godfrey saw his title hopes end after contact with Doran left him with three wheels on his wagon.

Oliver Bennett, another driver with a slim hope of the title, also got stuck in as he bid to overhaul Heathcote but could only muster third place at the flag.

Scott would be forced to retire late on whilst Kevin Procter made his way into second, albeit a lap too late as he unable to do anything about Heathcote, who took the win and more importantly the title.

Following in the footsteps of 2016 champion Dan Rooke, Heathcote’s rise through the ranks has been impressive. Winning the Swift Sport title just last year, the youngster made his mark at round one in North Yorkshire back in March, winning on his Supercar debut, and has since not looked back.

With one title in the bag, Heathcote set about making it a dream double later on Sunday as the Procters Coaches Rallycross Grand Prix got underway.

Again continuing to be a one-man LD Motorsport juggernaut, Heathcote was unbeatable and added his name to an illustrious list of winners as he took the spoils in the final ahead of Procter and Tony Bardy.

Elsewhere, Tristan Ovenden claimed the Supernational title with a third place finish in their final. Ash Simpson, making just his second appearance of the season, took the overall victory with Guy Corner hot on his heels.

Ole Henry Steinsholt scored victory in the Junior championship whilst Tom Llewellin capped off another impressive year by topping the rostrum in the Swift Sport category.

Retro Rallycross spoils went the way of Barry Stewart in his Porsche 911. John Ward meanwhile got the better of Chrissy Palmer in the RX150 buggy’s.

Rounding out the list of winners were Darren Scott and Martin Hawkes, who scored wins in the S1600/Hot Hatch and BMW Mini races respectively.